Faculty

Name Office
Phone
E-Mail Office Hours Area of Specialization Region
Agnani, Sunil 1919 UH
312-413-2234
sagnani1@uic.edu On leave
(2014-15)
European Enlightenment, Empire and Decolonization, 18th c. British and French thought Europe
Blair, Cynthia M. 1231 UH
312-996-9471
cmblair@uic.edu TR 1-2:30pm African-American History U.S.
Boyer, Christopher 901
UH
312-996-3141
crboyer@uic.edu TR 1-2pm Modern Mexico, Environmental History Latin America
Brier, Jennifer 1204
UH
 312-413-2458
jbrier@uic.edu M 11-12pm
T 1-2pm
LGBTQ Studies, US Women's History, Public History U.S.
Chávez, Joaquín M.

1017 UH 312-996-3141

chavezj1@uic.edu TR 11-12pm

Latin American and Caribbean history, the Global South Latin America
Daly, Jonathan W. 1019
UH
312-996-3141
daly@uic.edu MW 12-1pm Modern Russia, World History Europe
D'Emilio, John 1212 UH 312-996-2502 demilioj@aol.com T/W/R 10:30-12pm Gay and Lesbian Studies, History of Sexuality U.S.
Fidelis, Malgorzata 1023 UH
312-996-3141
gosia01@uic.edu R 1-3pm Twentieth-century Europe, Eastern Europe, Poland, Gender, communism Europe
Fink, Leon 1011 UH
312-996-3141
leonfink@uic.edu T 9:30-10:45am
By appt.
U.S. Labor U.S.
Hoppe, Kirk A. 922 UH
312-996-3141
kahoppe1@uic.edu M 11:30-12:30pm
W 10-12:30pm
World History, East Africa Africa
Hostetler, Laura 901 UH
312-413-2346

hostetle@uic.edu

TR 12:30-1:45pm Late Imperial China Asia
Johnston, Robert 930 UH
312-413-9164
johnsto1@uic.edu T 9:30-11:30am Director of Teacher Education Program; Progressive Era U.S. U.S.
Jordan, Nicole 1005 UH
312-996-3141
NJordan@uic.edu M 11-11:50am

Modern Europe, European Diplomacy Europe
Keen, Ralph 925 UH
312-996-3141
rkeen01@uic.edu TR 8-9am
and by appt.
Early modern Europe, History of Ideas, Religious History Europe
Levine, Susan 924 UH
312-996-3141
slevine@uic.edu T 1-3pm U.S. Women, Labor U.S.
Levy, Richard S. 923 UH
312-996-3141
rslevy@uic.edu MW 9-11:30am
TR 11-12pm

Modern Europe, Modern Germany Europe
Liechty, Mark 3148a BSB
312-413-3581
liechty@uic.edu TR 2-3:30pm


South Asian Culture and History Asia
Mantena, Rama Sundari  929 UH 312-996-3141
rmantena@uic.edu On leave
(2014-15)
South Asia, Colonial India, British Empire Asia
McCloskey, Deirdre N. 829 UH
312-355-4380
deirdre2.enteract@rcn.com By appt. Economic History Europe
McClure, Ellen 1613 UH
312-996-5076
ellenmc@uic.edu 17th-century France Europe
Mogilner, Marina 1001 UH

mmogilne@uic.edu


Imperialism
Russia/USSR
Europe
Papakonstantinou, Zinon 1808 UH 312-355-1325 zpapak@uic.edu TR 12-1pm and by appt.
Ancient History Europe
Peters, Julie 926 UH
312-413-9163
jlpeters@uic.edu T 11-1pm R 11-3pm
W by appt. 
Teacher Education U.S.
 Quadri, Junaid  925 UH

jquadri@uic.edu
MW 12-1pm Modern Islam, Islamic law, Islamic theology
Islamic World
Ransby, Barbara 1207 UH
312-996-2961
bransby@uic.edu African-American History U.S.
Sack, James 1012 UH
312-996-3141

jsack@uic.edu

TR 8-9:15am 18th and 19th Century Britain Europe
Schultz, Kevin M. 927 UH
312-996-3141
schultzk@uic.edu On leave
Modern America, Religious, Ethnoracial, and Intellectual History U.S.
Sklansky, Jeffrey 900 UH
312-996-3141
sklanskj@uic.edu W 10-12pm,
R 3:30-5:30pm
Intellectual, economic, and social history of the 19th century US and early America, history of capitalism, history of social science U.S.
Stauter-Halsted, Keely 1003 UH
312-996-3141
stauterh@uic.edu TR 2-3pm
History of Poland Europe
Tantillo, Astrida Orle 410 UH
312-413-9466
tantillo@uic.edu By appt. Germany, History of Science and Philosophy Europe
Tobin, Jennifer 1814 UH
312-996-5537
jtobin@uic.edu Greek and Roman, art and architecture Europe
Todd-Breland, Elizabeth 920 UH 312-996-3141 etoddbre@uic.edu On leave
Modern America, African American, Urban history U.S.
Zweiniger-Bargielowska, Ina 1010 UH
312-996-3141
inazb@uic.edu On leave
Modern Britain, British Women and Gender Europe

Lecturers

Name Office
Phone
E-Mail Office Hours Area of Specialization  Region
John Abbott 1015 UH
jabbot1@uic.edu MWF 10-10:50am


 
Elif Akcetin
 913 UH eakcetin@uic.edu      
Darryl Heller
914 UH darryl@uchicago.edu
W 12-1:30pm
R 11-12:30pm 
   
U.S., African American       
 U.S
 Bob Hunter 916 UH    zpn1@earthlink.net    
F 10-12pm

   
Monica Jimenez 914 UH jimenema@uic.edu MW 1:30-2:45pm

Latin American and Caribbean History, Empire Building

 Latin America and 
Caribbean

Instructors

Name Office
Phone
E-Mail Office Hours Area of Specialization Region 
Tom Dorrance 914 UH
tdorra2@uic.edu
MW 11-12pm

US history; labor, business and politics

 U.S
Nick McCormick 916 UH nmccor2@uic.edu   TR 10-10:50am

Museum & Exposition History, Colonial America and the United States to 1877, Southern U.S. History
 U.S
Maria Ritzema 916 UH
mritze1@uic.edu
MW 10:30-11:30am


Asia